German D.E.L.E. - Diplomas of Spanish as a Foreign Language | French D.E.L.E. - Diplomas of Spanish as a Foreign Language | Spanish D.E.L.E. - Diplomas of Spanish as a Foreign Language | Italian D.E.L.E. - Diplomas of Spanish as a Foreign Language | Russian D.E.L.E. - Diplomas of Spanish as a Foreign Language

Frequently Asked Questions about the DELE Exams and Certifications

Frequently Asked Questions about DELE Exam

Here you can find the most important information about the Spanish DELE exams: who can take them, how many levels there are, how to register, and much more!

What is this website?

This is an unofficial website where you can find the most important and updated information about DELE exams.

What is DELE?

DELE Spanish Diplomas are official, internationally recognized titles that certify the holder's degree of fluency in Spanish. The only way to earn a DELE Spanish Diploma is by taking a DELE exam.

Who organizes DELE exams?

DELE exams are organized by the Instituto Cervantes and the Spanish government, through the Ministry of Education, Culture and Sport.

Who corrects the exams?

The Universidad de Salamanca in Spain corrects DELE exams.

Who can take the exams?

Since 2015, any person who wishes to register for a DELE exam is eligible to do so, regardless of their nationality or country of origin.

How many levels are there?

DELE is divided into six levels.

  • Level A1 - Breakthrough
  • Level A2 - Waystage
  • Level B1 - Threshold
  • Level B2 - Vantage
  • Level C1 – Effective Operational Proficiency
  • Level C2 - Mastery

Can I take any level?

Yes, you can. You don’t need to have a certificate for lower levels in order to take a higher level exam.

Which exam should I take?

It depends on your level. Click on each level to learn more and see sample DELE exams.

There are also two exams specifically for young learners between 11 and 17 years old.

Young Learners Exams

When will I get my certificate?

You’ll receive your certificate a few months after taking the exam. The certificate will be sent to the address you provided at registration.

How many parts does the exam have?

The DELE exam tests are divided into different groups, depending on the level. Each test includes various tasks, and encompass the following skill sets:

    • 1. Reading comprehension
    • 2. Written expression and interaction
    • 3. Listening comprehension
    • 4. Oral expression and interaction

How do I sign up to take a DELE exam?

The first step is to register on the Instituto Cervantes website. Then, log in to your account and follow the instructions.